Tuesday, September 11, 2012

Getting to know us: Website/Facebook- Stephanie Hickey

Hi! My name is Stephanie Hickey. I have been married to my husband Charlie for 9 years. We have one son named Will who is 14 months old. I have been a busy career woman so this is my first year in MOPS. I am an associate veterinarian at Admiral Veterinary Hospital and have been working there for 5 years post-graduation from the University of Tennessee. I am a native Knoxvillian but briefly lived in Ohio during my childhood and returned in high school.

I love to read, swim, knit, and play my Clarinet. I spend my spare time showing my dogs and working with rescue groups to rehome animals in need. I am looking forward to getting to know the mommies this year and having some girl time with friends!

Getting to know us: Moppets- Hannah Stuart

 My name is Hannah Stuart. I have been married to my husband Bryan for nine years. We have two amazing boys. Aiden is five and Paxton is three. My background is in education but I now stay home and do laundry. This is my fourth year in MOPS and my third doing the kiddos craft and snack(Moppets). I am excited about this year and can't wait to both catch up with old friends and meet new ones!

Getting to know us: Hospitality- Jenny Roberts

Jenny has been married to Bradley since 2004. They have three daughters, Allie, Chase and Greer, and a dog named Maggie. Life is busy, fun and dramatic! When not refereeing girl fights, she enjoys exercising, collecting cookbooks/recipes, and watching college football. Jenny got involved in MOPS before the birth of her third child, and has found a fantastic and unique ministry. It is such a blessing to have a place to go where, odds are, someone knows EXACTLY what your day is like.

Getting to know us: Working Moms group leader- Rachel Mackley

My husband Drew and I were introduced by dear friends as young professionals and "tied the knot" 12 years ago.  We have been blessed with two hilarious and wonderful kids, Reagan (7) and Connor (4).  They are the light of my life!  I enjoy cooking, traveling, music, amateur photography, and just about anything outdoors.

I have worked for Knox Co Schools as a Behavior Specialist for the past 11 years.  It is quite a challenging job and I value the relationships and people I get to work with each day.  Balancing marriage, parenthood, a career, and managing our home can be quite crazy, and I rely on my faith to guide me every day.

This is only my 2nd year as a member of MOPs and it has been an awesome experience!  While the hustle and bustle of life sometimes takes over, it is refreshing to have a supportive group of ladies with whom you can fellowship, depend on, and pray with... for any ole reason!  I have the honor of leading the Working Moms' Small Group, and I look forward to the times we will get to share in the coming year. 

Monday, September 3, 2012

Getting to know us: Publicity- Elizabeth Smith

I have been married to my best friend, Daniel Smith, for 10 years. We have  4 daughters: Reagan (6), Bella (5), Lenlee (2), and Dahlia. We are originally from Knoxville and grew up at Central Baptist Bearden. After 12 years away, including college, dental school, and the Navy, we returned to Knoxville a year ago.

As a stay-at-home mommy and teacher to my new Kindergartener, my hobbies and interests primarily involve my children and planning for the next school day. In my free time I enjoy blogging, sewing, and crafting.

My first experience with MOPS was in VA after moving there with the Navy. MOPS is a wonderful place to meet other mommies of small children as well as a place to take a break. Back in Knoxville, I have enjoyed getting involved with MOPS at Central. The speakers are wonderful and the fellowship is refreshing.

Getting to know us: Finance- Kelly Wells

My name is Kelly Wells and I have been married to my husband David Wells for 10 years.  God has blessed us with 2 amazing children Matthew (3) and Reagan (7). I am originally from Florida however after  moving to Knoxville in high school and attending college at UT I can now say I am a Tennesseean! Go VOLS!
I am a full time mom, wife and career woman. I work full time as a branch manager with a bank where I have been the past 10 years. I enjoy my job however like most working moms I enjoy spending my evenings and weekends with my family.  I also enjoy baking, anything outdoors , home improvement projects and my addiction to anything Pinterest. 

This will be my third year with MOPS and I am really looking forward to a great new year!!

Getting to know us: Leader- Christa Margene

My name is Christa Margene and I have been married to my husband, Jere, for 11 years!  We have two boys, Eli (5 years) and Isaac (2 years) and one little girl coming soon.  I am originally from the Detroit, MI area but have loved calling Knoxville my home for the past 11 years.  I am a full time stay at home mom and have loved it!  However, there are days when I long to go to the bathroom all by myself and not have a cheering section:)

In my spare time...not that there is much of that...I love reading, watching movies, doing crafty projects and spending time with my family and friends.

This is my sixth year in MOPS and I can't wait to see what God has planned for our year!  I look forward to welcoming our new & returning moms and hearing some wonderful speakers!